Two Weeks!!

I can’t believe that two weeks from right this second I’ll be in the midst of running my second marathon….probably about 6 miles in at this point.  I’m excited 🙂

This week was a pretty tough week between recovering from the 20 miler and trying to get the last week of higher mileage in under my belt.  Yesterday was a bit of a crash and burn during my last long run. I was supposed to get in around 13 miles but quit after 9.5.  It wasn’t that my legs couldn’t hang, it was that the blazing sun was killing me and I was cursing the fact that I just didn’t get out there earlier. I was running through sprinklers trying to cool myself down and figured it just wasn’t worth it to push myself further.  It actually knocked me out for the rest of the day and I wound up napping on the couch.  Oh well, you win some, you lose so

For the next two weeks I just have to focus on getting my workouts in, eating right and getting enough sleep.  I think I can mange that 🙂

Here is what my week looked like:

Sunday – 20 miles outside 3:19

Monday –  1100m swim, lb strength and lots of stretching 

Tuesday – 3 miles elliptical, stretching and foam rolling (I was quite sore this day)

Wednesday – 5 miles of speed work 

Thursday – off

Friday – 2 very slow miles with the dogs

Saturday – 9.5 miles outside 

I was thinking about heading out again this morning but it’s super nasty outside 😦 so its looking like a rest day for me!

Have a great day!

One Response to Two Weeks!!

  1. Lisa says:

    The hard training is done, and you’re so right to just focus on rest, eating well, and scaling back the miles. I hope everything is smooth sailing leading up to race day!

Leave a Reply

