Freehold Area Running Club St. Paddy’s Day 10-Miler: Recap

Yesterday my BFF Amy and I met up to run the St. Paddy’s Day 10 Mile race that was hosted by a local running club.  We had run the race last year and I had a not so great performance due to going out way too fast.  I made sure to keep my pace in check and also started out in the back of the pack so that I wouldn’t get swept up in all the excitement.  This race is known for being pretty competitive and I didn’t want a repeat the same mistake twice by thinking I could run 9 min. miles for the whole sha-bang.

It was a gray, damp, drizzly day (another one of those race mornings where I would’ve rather stayed cuddled in my bed) and while I was excited to run during my drive there – once I got there I kind of lost my race mojo.  By the time I parked, walked 1/2 mile to get our race numbers, walked back to the car to get my stuff ready, walked back to the start area and used the potty — it was about 30 seconds til start time.  Amy and I said our goodbyes and we were off!

The first 3 miles were decent for me (all around a 9:44 pace) and my plan was to continually pick up the pace every 3 miles and blast it out right at the end during the last (almost all downhill) mile.  It was a good plan in theory but I just couldn’t get my legs to agree to it.  No matter how much I wanted to kick up the pace — my legs just didn’t want to put up with the effort and I hovered around that 9:44 pace the.entire.time.  bleck!

It was one of those races where by mile 6 I was wishing it was mile 9.  I actually got bored…there was a strict no headphone rule, there was NO crowd support unless you count the race officials directing traffic, and the course was “blah”….just a bunch of rolling hills through the back roads of Freehold.  Now  I shouldn’t be too disappointed with my performance as I did manage to shave a little over 6 minutes off of last year’s time — but I still feel a bit defeated from the whole thing.  It just wasn’t my day.  I also chose to run in my Pure Cadence instead of my Newtons.  I think this was a bit of a mistake as my feet were much more achy towards the end of the race.

Super props to Amy though for setting a new PR and finally breaking the 1:30 mark with a 1:27 and change 🙂

She came out to find me right at the end and we ran in together so we could get a repeat picture of us running together like last year.

Source

Official Time: 1:38:57

I can’t say enough great things about FARC’s coordination and execution of this race.  The packet pickup was super organized, the SWAG was good and the race shirt was cute too!  My only issue was last year they gave out long sleeved cotton t-shirts and this year they gave out short sleeved tech shirts (which I much rather prefer!) and the sizing was way off.  I love the shirt but it’s too big (men’s cut) to wear while running 😦   and I kind of wished the indicated what type of race shirt you were going to get so you could pick the appropriate size.  The post race party consisted of beer, hotdogs, soup, bagels and other snacks….we kind of wished it wasn’t so cold and rainy because we would’ve hung around a bit more after finishing.

Another race on the books and time to really start focusing on the marathon which is a mere 6 weeks away……AAAAGGGGHHHHHH!!!!!

2 Responses to Freehold Area Running Club St. Paddy’s Day 10-Miler: Recap

  1. Stephanie says:

    What a nice race photo!! I rarely end up with a well fitting race shirt. Such a bummer since we spend so much on registry fees, it would be nice to have a well fitting shirt!

  2. Lisa says:

    Yes, very cute photo! You ladies are lookin’ good. Congrats on the PR too. I do know how you feel about being disappointed though. Even when you set a PR, if you feel you were in shape to set a much bigger PR, it can be a let down. It’s still a strong time, and I’m certain you’re on track for a giant marathon PR in 6 weeks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

