Busy Busy Busy!!!!

This is why I’ve been lacking on the posting lately! I have definitely kept up with my training and have managed to fit it in with my crazy work weeks! Yes, there are mornings when I wake up simply exhausted and question my motives as I stare at my tired reflection in the bathroom mirror at 5:15 a.m. But after I complete my workout, I feel great and ready to tackle the day. I think my biggest obstacle that I’m still trying to manage is my lack of ability to shut my brain off at night. I wind up laying in bed wide awake (though exhausted) thinking about all the projects that I need to complete.

I was going to try melatonin to help me drift off and stay asleep but I was given a suugestion by a friend to try a supplement called Holy Basil. It is supposed to help with managing stress and cortisol levels in your body. I took 2 capsules about two hours before bedtime and definitely felt “different” …. Kind of relaxed maybe? I’m not sure if this was just a placebo effect or not but I’m going to try it again and see if I experience them same sensation I had a couple nights ago.

Okay so the training has been going well. My body is tired (to be expected) and my knees were a little achy this week. I have a feeling the ache stemmed from running two long runs (10 miles each) within the span of 5 days with a 6.5 tempo in between. Normally I wouldn’t do something like that but the only time I could fit in my long run this week was on Tuesday morning before work….so I’m paying for it now! I also altered my schedule to fit one running day on Sunday so it felt good to start my week with only 2 more runs to be completed 🙂
Can’t believe I’ve already completed 4 weeks of training!

Here’s what the last 2 weeks of training looked like:
Week #3
Sunday: off
Monday: Speedwork (1200, 1000, 800, 400, 200, 100) all with a 200 rest interval in between. 5.5 miles total
Tuesday: swim 1250m, strength training and stretching
Wednesday: 7 mile tempo
Thursday: swim 1150m, strength training and stretching
Friday: 10 miles @ 10:15 pace
Saturday: rest
Week #4
Sunday: 6.5 mile tempo
Monday: swim 1100m, strength training
Tuesday: 10.25 mile long run (10:15 pace)
Wednesday: off
Thursday: Speedwork (5 x 1k) with 400 rest interval, 5.25 miles
Friday: swim 1150m, strength training
Saturday: off

Whew that was a lot. Thanks for reading if you got this far!

One Response to Busy Busy Busy!!!!

  1. Brit says:

    I’m curious how the holy basil works out. I have taken melatonin before and while it seems to help me get to sleep, it leaves me feeling kind of groggy in the morning.

    Sounds like you had an intense week of running with the two ten milers and the long tempo run. Great job!

Leave a Reply

