Brooks Pure Cadence (my non-expert opinion) and other musings

Greetings blog world!  I must say that this week I’m definitely feeling back to “normal” (whatever that is) and this is the most energy I’ve had post marathon.  Yesterday I got in the pool for the first time in 2 weeks and it felt amazing….I also didn’t feel the need to take a nap under my desk for the rest of the day so that was most certainly a win-win.

After a ridiculously busy day at work,  I came home to two incredibly hyper dogs a strange box on the table.  It was an odd shape and I thought nothing of it until I got a closer look at the shipping label.  It was from City Sports!  FINALLY my free Brooks Pure  Cadence that I won via a FaceBook contest had arrived!  After almost 8 weeks of waiting, I was beginning to think they were never coming.  I was stoked!

I immediately went upstairs to get changed and take my buddy Arthur out for a test run 🙂  He was excited too!

Only problem was that it was already dark and kind of wet and gross outside so we only did a quick loop around the neighborhood and called it a night.  My immediate reaction was that they felt a little snug in the arch but otherwise were pretty comfortable.

This morning I was excited to get my butt over to the gym to give the shoes a good test on the treadmill.  I really despise the treadmill but it’s dark in the morning nowadays and I prefer the gym for my runs during the October – March months.  Anywho… I rocked out a solid 4.25mi tempo run in 39:45 –> that’s the fastest I’ve run in months and it felt SO GOOD!  The Pure Cadence were awesome and very responsive for a more minimalist shoe.  What I love about them is that they are a nice gradual step down from a super cushy shoe (like my Glycerin 9) to a more “pure” shoe.  For someone like me who needs to strengthen the ankles/calves for a more consistent footstrike and to prevent injury in the future – these are nice choice for “feeling the road” while still having a bit of meat under you feet.  I definitely feel the difference already as my feet are a bit more tender in areas I didn’t think existed!  I’m very excited to have these shoes as part of my rotation and plan to use them for shorter runs and speedwork.

Who’s getting excited for Thanksgiving??  Even though I’m trying to watch my portions and lose the “marathon chub”, I’m looking forward to enjoying my mom’s cooking and pumpkin pie!!!

4 Responses to Brooks Pure Cadence (my non-expert opinion) and other musings

  1. Brit says:

    Glad you like your new shoes! It is always super fun to run in new ones.

  2. stephanie says:

    I really want to try these shoes. I am in Brooks Adrenaline and could use something a bit more light weight! Nice job on the fast run!

    • Dana says:

      I remember saying that you wanted them! Honestly, if I hated them or if they were uncomfortable for me, you were the first person I was going to email to see if you’d fit in them and they would’ve been yours 🙂

  3. Courtenay says:

    AWESOME! Some day I’ll own these…*sigh* Just waiting for my dang team discount code to work on these shoes…

Leave a Reply

