Walking A Fine Line….

Between trying to get prepped for this marathon and not overdoing it! Geez, this is difficult. After my two weeks of no running, I rebounded quite nicely with two medium runs and one 60 min session on the AMT as part of my training last week. Does my knee ache? Sure does! But it’s not the sharp pains that I was experiencing prior, it’s more of just a dull, nagging ache 😦 Ice and Advil seem to keep it “happy” so I’m cautiously optimistic at this point.

The “fine line” part comes with these next 2 weeks. I have to ramp up the mileage and want to fit in two longer runs before I have to scale it back again. Of course I’m not going to push beyond what my knee can take (I’ll do that on marathon day — LOL!) but I need to build up my confidence! I have a half marathon on tap for this weekend – not planning on racing it, just doing it to cover the distance. I’m nervous about it but am just going to take what’s given to me on that day. If I can manage a comfortable pace and feel decent afterwards, I’ll try to do a longer run the following weekend (15+) and then hope for the best as I back off the mileage leading up to the big day πŸ™‚

Here’s what the training looked like last week:
Sunday – 8.5 miles outside (SLOW and steady 1:30)
Monday – 1100m swim, 15 min bike, LB strength training
Tuesday – 5.1 miles AMT hill workout (60 min)
Wednesday – 1100m swim, LB strength
Thursday – 8.1 miles TM (SLOW!!)
Friday – OFF
Saturday – OFF

On a positive note, my swimming is coming along nicely πŸ™‚ I only swim freestyle now and my “breaks” in between laps are getting less and less.

Please keep your fingers crossed that things continue to move in a positive direction. I’m starting to get excited/nervous for marathon day and I just want it to be the best day possible given the circumstances!

2 Responses to Walking A Fine Line….

  1. Lisa says:

    Can’t wait to hear how the 1/2 goes! Best of luck. πŸ™‚

  2. Brit says:

    Good luck at your half!

Leave a Reply

