NYC Marathon Training: Week 13 – Back on Track…kinda

Another week in the records and I feel like this week was certainly better than the last….my knee has been cooperating nicely and besides swimming, I was able to get in two runs and two workouts on the AMT.  I still held back this week because I didn’t want to blow it by jumping back into hardcore training and messing myself up again.  I did my “long run” of 6 miles this morning at a conservative 10:15 pace and felt good.  I definitely don’t feel like I’ve lost any fitness since I’ve been off the training routine and I can thank the pool workouts for that!  I’m a little saddened by the fact that today should have been my 18-mile run but I’ll get back to that level soon if my knee stays on the mend.  Hips and back feel wonderful!!!!

Here’s how the training looked for this past week:

  • Sunday – Rest
  • Monday – 3.5 mile run
  • Tuesday – 5.2 miles AMT (60 min hill workout)
  • Wednesday – 60 min swim
  • Thursday – 5.2 miles AMT (60 min hill workout)
  • Friday – 45 min swim
  • Saturday – 6 mile run
  • WEEKLY TOTAL: 19.9 miles (I’ll take it)

As I sit here typing I can definitely feel my knee tightening up again 😦  Time to go ice it down!!!

One Response to NYC Marathon Training: Week 13 – Back on Track…kinda

  1. Brit says:

    Great to hear that your knee is improving. You’ll be back to your A-game before you know it!

Leave a Reply

