Just keep swimming!!!

yeah….that’s what I’ll be telling myself for the next week!

Turns out my hips were more out of whack than I ever thought they could be.  I’ve been to the sports chiro twice this week with two more visits on the schedule and another 3 next week (ka-ching, ka-ching, ka-ching….whatever, I’ll worry about the expense of all this later!!!)  I’ll be honest, when I saw the x-rays of my hips,  I was surprised that I didn’t feel pain sooner; also shocked that I’m not ridiculously injured either.

My left knee is also out of alignment and we’re working on getting everything functioning properly again.  Yesterday after some ultrasound, cold laser therapy and PT — I got fitted with some super cool kinesio tape (oh yeah, now I’m hard core) and sent on my way.  I must say, my back, hips and neck are definitely feeling better — my knee is still pretty sore 😦  What does that mean?  It means no running for at least another week!  Ba-humbug!

The good part?  I’m allowed to swim and bike 🙂  So I chose swimming!  And I’m counting my lucky stars that I have access to a super awesome pool.  I’m also happy that I have an amazing chiro that belongs to the same gym that I do 🙂  She was kind enough to meet me at 6 a.m. this morning to show me some water running techniques and other exercises to build strength in my core and hips.

I’ve also spoken to my coaches and they are confident that I’ll be fine for marathon day – I just have to heal and focus on running with proper technique (using more of my core instead of my hip flexors).  My chiro also said that I will be a much more efficient runner once I get straightened out — score!  Because my hips were so off and my knee was rolling to the side, 100% of my energy was not being used to propel me forward…..makes sense.

So for now, I just have to keep swimming to keep my cardio up.  I had an excellent workout this morning and surprised myself with my swimming endurance 🙂  I think this injury was a good thing that opened my eyes to an awesome form of exercise that I would’ve never mustered up the confidence to try it I wasn’t “forced” to.

hooray for new things 🙂

3 Responses to Just keep swimming!!!

  1. Lisa says:

    Glad you’re working with a good chiro. I know you’ll heal up and definitely be ready by race day. Aqua jogging is a great thing when you’re dealing w/ injury.

    “just keep swimming.” 🙂

  2. Lisa says:

    P.S. Thanks for the question on my blog. I left you a reply (that got rather long). 🙂

  3. Brit says:

    Great news that you’re getting things “straightened out”. I hope the aqua jogging goes well. Last summer I did a lot of pool and bike workouts and kept up my fitness level pretty well. I’m sure you will too!

Leave a Reply

