Had to cut it short :(

Week #7 of NYC Marathon training is complete!  Kind of bittersweet as this week was definitely not one to put in the record books.  The insanely hot temps coupled with busy days at the office made for one VERY tired runner!

I seriously had every intention of getting up at 5:15 a.m. this morning to get in my 12 miler, but 6:00 just sounded so much better.  BIG MISTAKE!

Upon waking up I was greeted with temps in the high 80’s with a heat index of above 90 at 6:20 a.m.  I tried to eat breakfast, hydrate and get out the door as fast as I could….but I had a sinking feeling that 12 miles just wasn’t going to happen.  I took it very slowly and made sure to hydrate along the way and take walk breaks when needed.  At the 6.5 mile mark I had to come to terms with the fact that I could not bear to go on.  It just wasn’t safe to be out there and I was quickly running out of sprinklers to run through.  I feel defeated that I couldn’t make it and I almost had the thought to just go the distance no matter how long it took me … but then I was flirting with the sun getting stronger and stronger.  It just wasn’t my day 😦  so no “long run” for this week of training.

Here’s what this week’s training looked like:

  • Sunday – OFF
  • Monday – Cross training (and a wimpy effort at that) 3 miles total between elliptical and TM
  • Tuesday – 5 miles outside
  • Wednesday – 4.25 miles cross train on AMT
  • Thursday – 5.1 miles on TM – intervals
  • Friday – “Mixed Bag” of cross training – 3 miles total
  • Saturday – 6.5 miles outside
  • WEEKLY TOTAL = 26.85  —> BLECK!

Not all training weeks can be stellar … especially not ones that are amidst a crazy heat wave.

Onto week #8 🙂

One Response to Had to cut it short :(

  1. Brit says:

    Sorry to hear that your long run didn’t work out. I know that it has been ridiculously hot in NJ lately, I can’t imagine running in those temps. Hopefully some cooler weather will come in soon. Try not to get discouraged about the run, it sounds like it had nothing to do with your ability to complete it and a lot to do with the crazy weather.

Leave a Reply

