I’m going to the Bronx….yo!

In my almost 32 years of being on this earth, living in NJ, I don’t think I’ve ever been to the Bronx for anything. No Yankees games, no Bronx zoo….OH WAIT, we can count going there as part of the 5-Borough Bike Tour, right? Well in that case I’ve biked through the Bronx on two separate occasions….but that’s about it.

Why am I going to the Bronx you ask? I’ve decided to register for the Bronx Half Marathon on August 28th. It’s part of the NYRR Half Marathon Series and probably not the most desirable place to run a 1/2 in the blazing August heat and humidity…but our head coach suggested that we run it as part of our training. Since I’m basically missing out on all the fun group runs in NYC, I figured this was a chance to run with the coaches and teammates before the marathon. So on the calendar it went and now I have to figure out race day logistics because there is no way I can drive there the morning of. Hopefully I can find a decent place to stay that will allow for public transportation to the start area that won’t break the bank. We are already splurging on a hotel for marathon weekend so I don’t want to go too crazy on lodging expenses this time around.

This week has been a “mild” week of training thus far. I missed a tempo run that was supposed to be yesterday but I really don’t want to push myself too hard with my upcoming 5 mile race this Saturday. I want to have fresh legs and a decent time to post so taking it easy isn’t going to kill me. I can definitely turn up the intensity again next week!

If anyone has suggestions on where I can stay that’s close to the Bronx and not ridiculously expensive, please let me know!

3 Responses to I’m going to the Bronx….yo!

  1. Lisa says:

    No suggestions, but I actually have been to the Bronx. 🙂 My dad and I flew in for an afternoon game the last season of old Yankee Stadium. Obviously a quick trip and a lot if flying for 1 day, but we didn’t want to deal with the whole deal of finding a good/reasonable hotel nearby.

    Anyhow, best of luck. You are brave to do a 1/2 in August. Hope it’s not too hot!

  2. Courtenay says:

    FUN!!!! Great race to incorporate in the middle of training. Will give you a good idea of where you’re at. And you get to experience a whole new place! YAY!

  3. longrunner says:

    Hi Dana! Glad your marathon training is going well! I also signed up for a half toward the end of my training. It’s on the weekend when my schedule calls for 14 miles, so really I had no excuse — ha!

    I hope your race went well this morning!

    When is your marathon?

Leave a Reply

