NYC Marathon Training Week Four: Complete

I can’t believe that I am already four weeks in!! I definitely pushed hard this week and I’m happy with the outcome. The only bad day I had was yesterday; my 9 mile run was horrible! I think it was a combination of poor nutrition from Friday and the heat.  I definitely got up earlier than usual, but I think I’m going to have to get up at 5:00 a.m. like I normally do during the week.  There were so many times I wanted to quit yesterday and I almost did after 5 miles….but I gave myself a mental pep talk and kept on going.  My splits were somewhere in the 11:30 range because I had to take ALOT of walk breaks … but at least I got it done.

On a more positive note, my June stats showed 98.12 miles!!! I’m super proud of that number and know that I’ll break 100 next month.

I also slept with my compression sleeves every night this week. I think it really helped with recovery since I definitely increased the intensity of my treadmill workouts this week.

Here’s what the week shaped up to look like:

  • Sunday – 3.5 miles (run/walk)
  • Monday  – OFF
  • Tuesday – Treadmill hill workout 5.4 miles
  • Wednesday – 5.25 miles
  • Thursday – Treadmill speed intervals 5.5 miles
  • Friday – 3 miles (Eliptical)
  • Saturday – 9 miles
  • WEEKLY TOTAL: 31.65 miles 🙂

Onto week #5!!!!

One Response to NYC Marathon Training Week Four: Complete

  1. Lisa says:

    Woo Hoo! Keep up the good work. I was so pumped when I reached 100 mile months for training, so I know it’s exciting as you get closer to your race. 🙂

Leave a Reply

