Success (with pics!)

I’m still in shock and awe over the amazing fundraiser I had last week.  Sorry it took so long to get pics; I am still in search of the missing camera battery charger!!  Here are some of my faves from the night:

These were the special gift auction prizes: coach bag and a limo ride/baseball tix.

A view of my lovely gift auction 🙂

The other side of the auction table

Me at the check in table (my mom made the poster)

This is Amanda – she’s the one that helped me get into The Mill 🙂

Some attendees (the neon bags were the “goodie bags” I handed out)

The fam! LtoR: Dad, Grandpop, Hubs, Me, Mom and Sis

I sent in all the $$$ to the ACS and I’m anxiously awaiting my fundraising page to be updated.  The minute they get that money, I will be sent my invitation code to the NYC Marathon — then it truly becomes REAL.  OMG!

I really never expected this whole experience to be as rewarding as it has been so far.  I knew that when I chose to make 2011 the “year of the marathon” that I would tie it to a charity close to my heart – but I just never prepared myself for the overwhelming sense of  fulfillment by doing it.  I’m beginning to think this may become an annual thing for me 🙂

Training fell by the wayside last week! I only made it to the gym two times and both included about 30 min. on the elliptical.  I guess you could count Wednesday as a workout too — I trudged up and down my parents steps 25 times hauling all the prizes from my sister’s old room down to the garage where I was parked.  That has to count for something!!!

This week I’m still taking it a bit slow and just letting my body “do what it wants”. Once official marathon training commences, I will kick it into high gear, but for these next two weeks I just want to SLACK and not necessarily follow a strict schedule.  Yesterday I went out for an easy 5 miler after work….I didn’t go nuts and hovered around a 9:45 pace for the most part.  I’m a little sore today but that’s to be expected — I haven’t really ran outside in almost 2 weeks!  Tomorrow I’m going to do some speedwork and lifting at the gym and maybe do some short runs on Thursday/Friday.  We’ll see what happens.  I’d like to get a longer run in on Saturday but again, I’m not going to focus on pace – just want to get the miles under my belt and work from there.

Special congrats to Lisa who ran her first marathon over the weekend!!!!  She totally rocked it and I’m so proud of her! I can’t wait to post the words “I’m a marathoner” once November rolls around.

Also, I have to give a plug to my “team mate” Sam who is hosting the raffle of all raffles to raise money for the ACS…go check out her blog and DONATE!!!! (Sam, I don’t know who reads this but it’s worth a shot to get it out there!)

And lastly to Courtenay who completed her first 8 mile run today and celebrated with Chipotle — that’s my kinda girl!!!  Court, we totally need to meet one day!

4 Responses to Success (with pics!)

  1. Lisa says:

    Congrats Dana- you worked so hard on this and the fundraiser sounds like it was awesome. Looks great in the pics. And… Thanks for the shout out. Totally put a big smile on my face to read that. You’ll be a marathoner before you know it! 🙂

  2. Courtenay says:

    LOVE the fundraiser pics! I’ve been checking back all week to see them! 🙂 So proud of you for how dedicated you are to running for such a great cause. You’re gonna kick serious butt!

    And seriously…I think we should plan a meet-up somewhere halfway or something. Find a race to run! Someday…

    Thanks for all YOUR support of me! I truly appreciate it!

  3. Thanks for the link love! I’ll take all the support I can get!

  4. Mrs.CJ says:

    Wow! Great job!!

Leave a Reply

