Pounding the pavement!

Just not in my running shoes 🙂

A while back I mentioned that I’ve got a fund raising event coming up in May, well I guess I should mention some details.   A business colleague of mine became the banquet manager for a bar/restaurant/event venue called The Mill in Spring Lake Heights (literally like 5 min. from my office).

I got in touch with her back in February about possibly hosting a fundraising event and she was all for it.  So low and behold, “Cocktails for a Cure” was born 🙂  I’ve decided to organize a happy hour/business networking event on May 18th and am asking for a $10 donation at the door.  There will be $5 drink specials and 1/2 priced appetizers AND the Mill has been gracious enough to donate $5 to the American Cancer Society for every person I get to come that night!  In addition, I’m having a gift auction at the event to raise additional funds which is why I’ve been pounding the pavement all day asking for donations.

I am so thankful that every business I walked into today was more than happy to give me something to raffle off.  So far my “prize stock” includes:

  • $50 gift card to Hand and Stone massage spa
  • $25 gift card to Cigars Plus (local cigar shop)
  • (2) gift certificates for manicures
  • 1 free dog wash (local pet spa)
  • 1 free day of doggie daycare
  • 2 amazing dance packages from Fred Astaire Dance Studio
  • Ladies Pamper Party including $125 of merchandise from Mary Kay
  • (7) $15 gift cards from RoadID

I am BEYOND thrilled with what I’ve received so far and I dropped off more letters that I have to follow up on this week coming up.  The follow ups include my gym (asked for a free month membership), Chipotle, and the salon I get my hair done at 🙂  Plus I plan on spending another day going around and soliciting more donations.

But wait, there’s more!  I am also giving out “swag bags” to the attendees with coupons, giveaways, free tickets for the gift auction and snacks.  It sure pays to know how to run a fundraising event!  I’m super excited and hope that May 18th turns out to be a big success.  My goal is to raise $1000 or more that night.

Off to relax for the rest of the night.  I have an EARLY day tomorrow….I’ll post more on that tomorrow evening 🙂

Leave a Reply

