And the training continues….

As much as I had my hopes up for another half marathon in May, I think I need to take a little bit of a break.  I don’t want to burn myself out before the hardcore marathon training commences and I don’t want to get tired of running before the high mileage weeks are in the near future.  Besides, the half marathon would fall on a week that is SUPER busy for me so why kill myself, right?  AND if I really really really wanted to get another half under my belt before the brutal summer heat comes along, there is another one on June 5th that I could participate in. So there you have it!  I’m actually getting “into” the whole strength training too and I’m anxious to see how it aides in my overall improvement.

Here’s what the training has looked like this week:

Sunday – 8 miles (although my Garmin was a little whacky and I think I went further).

Monday – OFF –> my upper body was SORE from the lifting and it felt great 🙂

Tuesday – 3.25 miles outside after work.  I’m going to be honest and say that it was a total shit workout.  My legs felt heavy and my feet were hurting so I wound up walking most of those miles.  Funny how running can be glorious one day and totally suck the next.

Wednesday – 15 min. intervals on stair mill (that 15 min. is an ass kicker, let me tell you!), full body strength routine (found a strength circuit I really like)

Thursday – 15 min. intervals on stair mill (jacked up the intensity), stretching, abs, and 20 min. of speedwork on the TM (2.10 miles).  This included 1 full mile at an 8:30 pace (that might sound puny to some — and hopefully in a couple months I’ll laugh at this accomplishment) Really focused on getting my legs to turn faster!

Friday – Full body strength circuit is on the schedule.  Depending on time and how my feet/legs feel, I may try to get in some miles on the TM as well.

Saturday – Long Run (10+ miles) This is only if my feet feel good (having a weird pain in my right foot – I think from my new crocs wedge sandals!)

So there you have it 🙂 My super boring post with my training schedule!  At least it keeps my accountable 🙂

2 Responses to And the training continues….

  1. Jena says:

    Looks like you had a great week of training, even if you had a run that wasn’t what you wanted.

    Also, you shouldn’t discredit yourself. 8:30 is a great pace; even if it’s only for one mile! My 5k times are in the 7:40-7:50’s, and I still am very satified with a training run in the 8:30’s.

  2. Lisa says:

    I don’t think it’s super boring. 🙂 It’s always good to read about what other runners are doing (and know that we all have good and bad days too!)

    Hope the foot pain is nothing serious and back to normal soon.

Leave a Reply

