It’s Wednesday….that’s all I got!

I’m still struggling with trying to figure out the best plan of attack to incorporate other “stuff” into my training routine.  Oh how I wish the classes at my gym would start at 6 a.m. vs. 5:30 a.m. — that extra half hour is crucial!  I also have the whole set of P90X dvds at home (given to us by a friend) that I’ve never attempted to even look at.  I hear such rave reviews about the program that maybe I can find a way to work it into my training (even if it’s just 3 days a week).  I can’t believe I’m being so blockheaded about this whole cross training/strength thing, especially when I KNOW it’s going to make me better.  Sometimes I just wish I’d have an epiphany and all would fall into place easily.

Next on the agenda….the foot!  I went to the podiatrist yesterday and frankly, she’s baffled too!  When she manipulates my foot to create the neuroma pain, I don’t feel it!  It’s the strangest thing ever!  Now I’m being sent for an MRI of my foot to rule out any other issues I may be having.  We also sent out my new orthotics to be readjusted with a bigger metatarsal pad and I’m 99% sure that’s going to solve the problem.  When I originally picked up these orthotics, I had my doubts about the size of the pad that was used.  Especially since my store bought pads were much bigger/thicker and I didn’t have an ounce of pain while running with those  … so those bad boys are back in my shoes for the time being.  Thankfully the turn around time on the adjustment is 5 business days so I should have them back fairly quickly 🙂

I’m also having a heck of a time thinking about my upcoming half marathon (T minus 23 days!)  Coming off a bad performance on Sunday is messing with my head a bit.  I’m considering running the course this weekend (well…not the WHOLE thing…maybe like 11-12 miles)  It’s a straight out and back along the beach and even though I’ve run the boards before, I think experiencing the course will build my confidence up a bit more.  I’m really gunning to beat my time from the 3/6 half and I know it’s doable provided that my legs cooperate and my head stays smart!

3 Responses to It’s Wednesday….that’s all I got!

  1. Courtenay says:

    When you figure out how to get moving on the cross-training, be sure to spread the love to me. I can’t stand it.

  2. Courtenay says:

    Um…so I just found out my first half marathon doesn’t give out medals either. WHAT THE CRAP?!?!?!

Leave a Reply

