To class or not to class…

Besides martial arts (I have a blackbelt in sport Tae Kwon Do….but have stopped training in the past years), I’ve never been an exercise class type person.  Yes I’ve tried my hand at boxing or yoga but I not one to seek out the different classes that are offered at the gym.  I’m thinking that needs to change….

I know that I need to incorporate different things into my routine to better myself. I love running and following a training plan, but I think I need to mix things up a bit (not out of boredom, but out of necessity to get better!)  Perhaps it’s high time to start throwing in a class or two a week to improve my strength and endurance.  The two biggest issues with this: 1.) I’ll have to get up MUCH earlier since morning class starts at 5:30 a.m. and 2.) the class I REALLY want to attend is at 6:30 p.m. (evening workouts really aren’t my thing!)

I have sought out two classes that should fit nicely into my training and they fall on Tuesday and Thursday.  Tuesday would be a class called 20/20/20 (a 60 min. class that focuses on upper, lower and core –> 20 min for each).  Thursday would be Interval Training which is a full body workout as well (the descriptions says “focuses on strength, flexibility and endurance”).  I figure I can piggy back a quick 3-4 miles on after the class since it ends at 6:30 and I usually don’t hit the locker room until 7:15ish.  Wednesday and Friday would be my “longer run” days (6-7 miles).  The more I think about this, I feel like it just might work!

This week’s training is looking like this:

  • Monday –> REST
  • Tuesday –> 30 min. walk on the treadmill and lots of stretching
  • Wednesday –> 40 min. on TM (walk/run combo 3.1 miles) and stretching
  • Thursday –> 60 min. class and 3 mile run on TM
  • Friday –> 5 miles TM
  • Saturday –> ? maybe I can convince my husband to go lift or take a yoga class
  • Sunday –> 8 miles

Off to set my alarm for 4:50 a.m.  ICK!!!!

Are you a class taker? What are your faves?

Leave a Reply

