Sore….

And that is all I have to report.

No really….I’m tired. I have to say this is the most “wiped out” I’ve felt in a really long time. I knew that I wouldn’t bounce back like a spring chicken after the race, but I wasn’t expecting to be as sore as I am. My calves are super tight and my quads scream every time I go down a flight of stairs. I curse those hills!

I went to the gym this morning because I knew I had to move around and stretch. I walked (very slowly) for 30 minutes on the TM – stretching after every 10 min. – and then spent about 15 minutes stretching on a mat. Followed by a dip in the hot tub where I let the jets beat on my quads and calves for a bit and a quick trip into the steam room to stretch the legs one last time. I know the dogs will need entertaining once I get home from work so I’ll walk each one around the neighborhood (1.25 miles total) and will stretch some more!
I’m really hoping my legs start to feel better in the next day or so because I want to get back into training.

I also feel like my head isn’t in the game these past two days. I’ve been walking around in a fog and would give anything to just lay on the couch for a day and not think about anything. The weekend will be here soon (at least that’s what I keep telling myself).

I also got an award from Courtenay 🙂 I plan on participating soon … I promise….I just haven’t had the mental capacity to do much else besides work. But thanks Court — I’ll share in the festivities soon, I promise.

What do you do when you’re super sore? I really wanted to do an ice bath when I got home on Sunday but the thought of being cold and wet just didn’t appeal to me after running in pouring rain.

One Response to Sore….

  1. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    I’ve heard that epsom salt baths work, but I really don’t know if it works. :/ After long runs I ice bath, but I agree that if I had run in the rain and cold I would be less inclined to ice bath.

Leave a Reply

