Last 2 miles before the big day!

This morning was my last run before the half marathon.  It was only 2 miles and my legs are still feeling a bit heavy 😦  I wanted to follow the “taper week” as described by Hal in the novice 1/2 training program.  He calls for the following mileage:
Sunday – 10 miles  –> I ran 12 miles
Monday – stretch/strength –> I rested and stretched ALOT
Tuesday – 4 miles –> I ran 2 miles because my legs were still sore
Wednesday – 3 miles –> I ran 4 miles  outside (legs felt okay…not great though)
Thursday – 2 miles –> I ran 2 miles (easy pace) stretched and jumped  hot tub at the gym
Rest until big day –> I may supplement this with a bit of walking instead (nothing crazy!)

I’m still having the anxiety — have woken up at 3:00 a.m. the past two nights and haven’t been able to restfully sleep after that. I really really excited to do this but I have all those “what -ifs” running through my head.

  • What if I totally bonk after like 4 miles?
  • What if my feet don’t feel like cooperating and I get neuroma pain?
  • What if the experience sucks? (very unlikely there will be crowd support on the course)

I know I can’t think this way, but these little questions keep popping in my head.  I’m one of those people that doesn’t like to fail. I know just completing the race is an accomplishment in itself…but I want to have a decent time to be proud of. Am I putting too much pressure on myself?

3 Responses to Last 2 miles before the big day!

  1. Lisa says:

    Good luck with the race! Here’s my take on those nagging questions:
    ■What if I totally bonk after like 4 miles? You won’t. No way. (Before my first half I felt like death on a 3-miler several days before, but on race day I was a-okay).

    ■What if my feet don’t feel like cooperating and I get neuroma pain? Hopefully won’t happen either.

    ■What if the experience sucks? (very unlikely there will be crowd support on the course)
    It won’t. Trust me on this one!

  2. Brit says:

    You’re going to do great! You trained hard. You have it in the bag.

    ■What if I totally bonk after like 4 miles? – That isn’t going to happen, but if it does, slow down, mentally regroup, and keep moving at a pace that feels comfortable. Worst case, find another race and try again in a few weeks.
    ■What if my feet don’t feel like cooperating and I get neuroma pain? – I don’t know, sorry. I really hope that you don’t have to deal with that though.
    ■What if the experience sucks? (very unlikely there will be crowd support on the course) – The experience is what you make of it. Sometimes it is nicer not to have crowd support because you can turn on your iPod and just truck along without thinking about anything.

  3. Courtenay says:

    Not that I can speak from experience…yet, but there is no way you’re gonna bonk out on this one. I think sheer excitement is going to get you through it and you’re going to have a BLAST!

    Just think that I, Courtenay, will be cheering you on from home ALL DAY LONG! 🙂 Who needs crowd support?? Eh?? 🙂

    You’re gonna kick serious butt!

Leave a Reply

