Motivated. Motivated. Motivated.

If you’re in your late twenties/early thirties, you’ll remember “Saved By The Bell”. I loved watching it on Saturday mornings and then (as I got older) the endless repeats at 5:00 p.m. while my mom prepared dinner. Actually, I’m fairly confident that show still airs repeats in the mornings even today.

There was one specific show where the kids had to have their own start up business.  They got seed money, etc. and had to come up with an idea to grow the business and turn a profit.  Their teacher (I want to say his name was Mr. Tuttle) would hand the seed money to the groups and after each hand off he’d say, “motivated motivated motivated”. It’s pathetic that I’m almost 32 and remember this….but it’s quite often that even at the office in the mornings, my dad will come over to me and go “motivated motivated motivated” as he’s trying to get his head together for a busy day….and then we laugh.

As I sit here at 7:30 on Sunday morning with my cup of coffee (that needs reheating because I had to get up some many times to make sure Omar finished his breakfast), I find myself repeating those 3 words in my head. I’ve got 12 miles I need to knock out soon and quite honestly, I’m a little nervous. I’m afraid that this run is going to suck 😦  Here’s why:

  • I definitely didn’t drink enough water yesterday
  • My legs are a little tight and feeling sluggish
  • I shouldn’t have eaten tons of Portuguese food last night
  • I shouldn’t have drank the Sangria either (but it was SO GOOD)
  • I’M TIRED!

OMG I sound like a whiney P.I.T.A. right now and I’m sure once I suit up and get out there, I’ll be fine.  I just need to find the motivation to do it.

Later today I’ll post about my 12 mile adventure….here’s to hoping it’s a great one!

What do you do when you’re not motivated for a long run? Am I setting myself up for failure already?

Leave a Reply

