10.34 miles (and yes, that .34 is IMPORTANT!)

After my mockery of a run on Friday….I knew that today I had to bang out some good miles. My first half marathon is 2 weeks from today! I braved the icy windchills and set out to do at least 10 miles this morning.
The first 2 miles were chilly since it was taking a while for my body to warm up (especially since Arthur likes to take frequent pee breaks during those first couple miles as well!)

After I got warmed up I was feeling pretty good šŸ™‚ Feet and legs were feeling strong, heart rate and breathing were nice and even. I wasn’t hauling ass but I wasn’t shuffling at a snails pace either. I knew that Arthur obviously couldn’t hang for the entire thing but he earned a new PR this morning…first 10K šŸ™‚
After the first 6.25 miles, we stopped home so I could drop Arthur off and take a quick pee break myself (I don’t have the convenience of lifting my leg on a fire hydrant like the dog!).
I set back out and was really feeling good and decided to pick up the pace. I was ticking off the remaining miles at a 9:08 pace which I was happy with šŸ™‚ I really wanted to go beyond the 10 but my left calf muscle was really starting to get tight so I decided to cut myself off at 10.34 miles. Better to cut the run short than have an injury two weeks before the big day!

Speaking of the big day, I have to set my sights on some goals. So here are my 3 for that day:
1.) finish strong and injury free
2.) finish at around 2 hours 20 min.
3.) finish in 2 hours or less šŸ™‚ I know this one is lofty for my first but hey, race day inspiration might get the best of me!

With that said, I am now going to go rest my weary legs and chill on the couch!

Leave a Reply

