Double Digits!!!!

I’ve been meaning to brag about this accomplishment but I just haven’t gotten a chance to sit down in front of my computer and write all about it! Shame on ME!!!! This past Sunday (2/6/11) it was a glorious day with temps in the mid 30’s, sun shining and very light breeze. I decided that I would tackle my long run outdoors since I need to get out on the pavement more as I get closer to my first 1/2 Marathon. I ran 10 miles in 1 hour and 40 min šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚ This is the longest distance I have ever ran and even though I was exhausted afterwards, the sense of accomplishment was just so incredibly awesome.

I RAN 10 MILES!!! Okay I’ll admit, after the first 5 mile loop I had to retreat to my house to ditch my fuel belt and take a quick bathroom break, but still….I ran 10 miles! This huge accomplishment is going to seem so minuscule once I really start piling on the higher miles for the NYC Marathon. But I’ll bask in the glory for now!

I have also officially graduated from the Hal Higdon Novice 1/2 Marathon training plan…well, I take that back, this week would be the days leading up to race day and I don’t have a 1/2 marathon plastered on my calendar for this Sunday….however, I’m using this week as a step down week and will ramp up the mileage the next couple weeks before my first race. Oh yeah….over achiever me decided to run my first half marathon on March 6th instead of waiting until April 16th!! Being that I have fully completed a training program, I feel that I’m ready to tackle this distance and this particular race just happen to be close by and really cheap ($25!!!) so I figured…why not? It’ll be a good experience and give me a benchmark for where I need to take my training to complete my April 15th half marathon even faster šŸ™‚

Fund raising is still going strong šŸ™‚ I am sooo close to reaching the $2k mark. I am also going to sit down with a colleague of mine tomorrow to see if there’s some way we could put together some sort of social fund raising event in the next couple of months. I’m super excited for this!

Here’s what my week of training as looked like:
Sunday – 10 mile run and stretching (lots of it!)
Monday – rest, stretching and massage
Tuesday – 3 miles easy on the TM @ 1.5% incline
Wednesday – 4 miles easy on the TM @ 1.5% incline
Thursday – 20 min. walk on TM, 20 min. arm cycle, stretching
Friday – maybe some light cross training on the bike
Saturday – rest

One Response to Double Digits!!!!

  1. Mrs.CJ says:

    Congrats on your 10 miles! Sounds like a good idea to take advanatage of a cheaper half marathon to give it a go and then do another in April. We do the same thing, we use races as training or tune up to prepare for another race.

Leave a Reply

